WILD AND FREE HAWAII

I spend a fair amount of time researching for unique items on Etsy.com; whether it be for our home, the kids, parties, or apparel. Recently, I came across a vendor selling beautifully reconstructed vintage denim shorts. I became obsessed with the creations by WILD AND FREE HAWAII and was intrigued by the details which include: studs, dip dye, and patchwork. I contacted Chantel, the owner, to find out more about her business, she shared:

“WILD AND FREE was born in June of 2011. ‘Be Wild, Live Free’ is my motto in life! I was on a hunt for the perfect pair of denim shorts.. Living on a small island shopping is VERY difficult. I could only find spandex/cotton pairs so I snuck into my dads closet and took an old pair of Levi’s cut them distressed them and dyed them. My friends went crazy for them, and everyone wanted a pair.. and that’s how WILD AND FREE started. The company took off after that, and I now retail them on 2 islands and make hats and tanks as well.”

Her process begins with vintage shopping at thrift stores, cutting to approximate measurements, distressing, dyeing, studding or sewing and washing again. I love that each pair is one-of-a-kind, upcycled and vintage. Her designs are hand-made on the island of Kauai, and she finds her inspiration from music and fashion icons such as: Janis Joplin, Jimi Hendrix, Debbie Harry, and Farrah Fawcett. Her personal style, which she describes as “gypsy, hippie, bohemian, rock¬†with a little hint of aloha”, is reflected through each pair. Her designs are currently sold at events on island, Hanakai Boutique on Kauai, Fashionistas market on Oahu, as well as online at etsy.com/shop/wildandfreehawaii. Be sure to check her our on Facebook as well as instagram, too! Here are a few of my favorite WILD AND FREE HAWAII pieces…

all images C/O WILD AND FREE HAWAII

2 thoughts on “WILD AND FREE HAWAII

  1. Pingback: DIY Slasher Shorts | Adella & Co.

  2. Pingback: Hot Spell |

Leave a Reply

